Unhappy Christians? Oximoron.

Mathew11:28, Come to me, all who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Christaians should not be unhappy, first, they are not going to hell!

You can either be powerful or pitiful, but you can’t be both. Being powerful narrows down to your faith and your relationship with the Father.It means sowing into the Spirit.

I mean, we all get depressed, stressed, bogged down by situations, but what we do in those situations will determine how pitiful or powerful we are. The devil will lead you to believe that you are alone in that situation or you have the worst life. Listen, some people have had it worse.

Alice Smith writes in her book, Beyond the Veil;

I’m amazed at the number of emotionally and mentally depressed Christians who take antidepressant medications.I believe many of these “depressed christians” are receiving a call to interceed.

Triggers to interceed or pray:
A mental picture( see Acts21:10,11) of something or someone that flashes into your mind.
An intense picture to be alone with God(seePsalms42:1,2)
A dream(see Acts2:17,18)
A physical weakness such as Daniel experienced(see Dan8:17,18,27)
A dull heartache(see Rom9:2)
A burning in the pit of stomach (see Luke24:32)
A sensation of feeling flushed(see Isa40:29-31)
A small, quiet voice in your mind saying to pray(see Matt14:23, luke6:12)
A sense of emergency(see Daniel7:15) and
A flash of a name or face across your mind(see Acts9:10-14)

Agree with the Lord in prayer. He will not force you to pray but will offend your mind in order to change your heart.(See 1 Sam19:24; Mic1:8). He has given you free will.

You are probably looking at the above and thinking, ‘No Sarah, what I have are real fear/panic/anxiety issues.’ I love a song by Jonathan David and Melissa Helser, No longer slaves. Yeah we are no longer slaves to fear, we’re God’s Children. You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you, even though you don’t feel like it. Confess that. Believe that, because He will do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think according to the power/faith that worketh in us.

Every morning this year I have had a confession list, I may not feel like what I am confessing, but those words will not come back void.Emotion follows motion, not vice versa, else no one will do anything. You are only as strong as you confess, out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks. Strive to build yourself and your confidence in the word.

Dear Younger Me by MercyMe is a perfect song for this. Where there is You, input I,
so;
I am holy
I am righteous
I am one of the redeemed
Set apart, brand new heart
Oh I am free indeed
Every mountain, every valley
I reach out to I will see
Every moment brings me closer to whom I am meant to be

Maybe I’ll write more about confessing positively, fear and anxiety later on.
Listening to: Worship central, The way.
Reading: Nothing at the moment.

Notes:
Smith Alice, Beyond the Veil pg38

Leave a Reply

